NetworkMinnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Coach Login
Tournament Brackets | CraigOlsonSports | PheasantCountry |
Federated Telephone Heartland Motor Company
Print this Story
Email this Story

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Finalists Announced For 2015 Mr. Football Award

By Kyle Gylsen

The 10 finalists for the 2015 Mr. Football Award have been announced by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA).

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) and the Minnesota Vikings. The Mr. Football Award was first presented in 2004, with the first winner being Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks High School. The 2014 Mr. Football Award winner was Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson High School.

The 2015 Mr. Football Award will be presented at the Mr. Football Banquet on Sunday, November 22 (12:00 PM) at the Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis Park Place Hotel.

The 10 finalists for the 2015 Mr. Football Award (in alphabetical order) are:

Isaac Collins (Maple Grove) RB/DB

Carter Coughlin (Eden Prairie) LB

Logan Hatfield (Bemidji) RB

Amani Hooker (Park Center) QB/WR/DB/Ret

Tyler Johnson (Minneapolis North) QB/FS

Kamal Martin (Burnsville) QB/DB/LB

David McCuskey (Orono) RB

Bishop McDonald (North St. Paul) DB/RB/Ret

Dillon Radunz (Becker) OL/DL

To be nominated for the Mr. Football Award:

Nominee must be a graduating senior

Nominee’s Head Coach must be a current member of the MFCA

Nominee must not have any MSHSL violations

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award:

2014 – Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson

2013 - Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, Mankato West

2010 - Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic

2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount

2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley

2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie

2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall

2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Questions may be directed to Mr. Football Committee Chair Rick Sutton at [email protected] or (612) 860-6624.

If you plan to attend the Mr. Football Banquet, please notify Jim Dotseth ([email protected]).

1998-2018 - Powered by MNSOnet at