NetworkMinnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Coach Login
Tournament Brackets | CraigOlsonSports | PheasantCountry |
Federated Telephone Heartland Motor Company
Print this Story
Email this Story
Photo Gallery
Benson School
Benson Basketball (B)
Benson Basketball (G)
Chokio-Alberta School
Chokio-Alberta Basketball (B)
Chokio-Alberta Basketball (G)
Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg School
Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Basketball (B)
Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Basketball (G)
Minnewaska Area School
Minnewaska Area Basketball (B)
Minnewaska Area Basketball (G)
Morris Area School
Morris Area Basketball (B)
Morris Area Basketball (G)

Friday, March 28, 2014
Basketball (B), Basketball (G)

Jam The Gym Fundraiser Saturday In Bird Island

By Kyle Gylsen - Bird Island

A total of 54 area athletes will put their basketball skills on display Saturday afternoon at an event at the BOLD school in Bird Island. But the main reason for their getting together will be to raise money for Tim Orth Memorial Foundation.

The 19th annual “Jam the Gym” Basketball Event includes boys' and girls' basketball players from around the area, along with some entertainment.

Ten of the players participating are from the coverage area, including: Jacob Goff and Christian Larson, Benson; Maddi Strandberg, Katherine Wilts, James Faulkner and Brody Lindquist, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunberg; Beth Holland, Abby Olson, Nicole Strobel and Bryce Jergenson, Morris/Chokio-Alberta;

Doors open at 4:00 p.m. Saturday. A three-point shootout begins at 5 p.m., with opening ceremonies at 5:45 p.m. The shootout final round begins at 6 p.m., followed by the girls' and boys' games.

Other on-court entertainment will be provided by the ACRODUNK dunk team, the entertainment act Quick Change, the Fargo-Moorhead Acrobatics Team, the Alexandria Aces ball-handling team, Utah Jazz mascots Big Bear and Little Bear, and NBA dunk teams from Minnesota and Utah.

Off-court events feature silent and live auctions, a raffle, T-shirt sales and concessions. Silent auction items include memorabilia from Kevin Durant, Kevin Love, Tom Brunansky and other sports figures.

TOMF founder Bill Neubauer states that more than 20 people in the Bird Island, Glencoe and Fairfax areas will be recipients of funds raised at Saturday’s event.

The TOMF was founded in memory of Tim Orth, a BOLD athlete who was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor in December 1995. Neubauer, one of Orth’s coaches, and Neubauer’s wife, Janelle, organized the first “Jam the Gym” event in 1996 to raise funds for Orth. Upon Orth’s death in February 1997, the foundation was founded in his honor.

The mission of the Tim Orth Memorial Foundation is to assist, financially or otherwise, children in the West Central Minnesota area who are facing substantial medical expenses incurred as a result of a serious accident or illness.

The TOMF is an all-volunteer organization that sponsors multiple fundraisers throughout the area and has provided financial assistance for more than 200 families with children suffering from illnesses or accidents.

On Saturday, the TOMF will surpass the $2 million mark in funds raised, Neubauer said.

For more information, visit


Black Team: Jacey Nelson, ACGC; Baylie Kubesh, Carly Sigurdson, Mallarie Steffel and Andrea Maher, BOLD; Danielle Wubben and Mary Covert, Central Minnesota Christian School; Ashley Hoehne, Chelsey Hass and Jessie Janisch, Montevideo; Sadie Treml and Nora Kronlokken, Renville County West

Red Team: Maddi Strandberg and Katherine Wilts, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunberg; Aleah Schwitters, Kaylee Hammerschmidt and Haylee Sandry, MACCRAY; Madison Phillips, Minnewaska; Beth Holland, Abby Olson and Nicole Strobel, Morris/Chokio-Alberta; Olivia Setterberg, New London-Spicer; Jordan Martins, Kalley Fosso and McKenzie Hastad, Willmar


Black Team: Taylor Larson and David Kinzler, ACGC; Wayne Kosak and Tyler Lothert, BOLD; Nick Daugherty and Ryan Brouwer, Central Minnesota Christian School; Jordan Thompson and Dazhown Coleman, Montevideo; Brett Olson, Ryan Vraa and Tyson Gislason, New London-Spicer; Andre Topp and Spencer Syvertson, Paynesville; Griffin Schaub, Renville County West

Red Team: Jacob Goff and Christian Larson, Benson; James Faulkner and Brody Lindquist, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg; Bailey Boike, Jacob Aviles and Dean Schroeder, MACCRAY; Bryce Jergenson, Morris/Chokio-Alberta; Kyler Johnson, Adam Nibaur, Tyler Stegeman, Joel Carter and Brady Damhof, Willmar; Logan DeBlieck and Austin Vikander, Yellow Medicine East


1998-2018 - Powered by MNSOnet at